• 114

    Glasgow Trombone Weekend: Concert 2 BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra

  • When
    23 June 19:30 - 22:30
  • BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra

    Wagner Overture - Die Meistersinger von Nürnberg (c.11’)
    Christian Lindberg, conductor

    Kalevi Aho - Trombone Concerto (2010) (c.30’)
    Jörgen van Rijen, trombone
    Martyn Brabbins, conductor
    Respighi - Pines of Rome: symphonic poem (c.25’)
    Martyn Brabbins, conductor

    Christian Lindberg - The Wave of Wollongong (c.15’)
    Christian Lindberg, trombone/director

    Jörgen van Rijen, principal trombone of the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra, brings Kalevi Aho’s concerto to Glasgow, a work written specially for him and in which he plays both tenor and alto trombones. There’s more virtuosity in Christian Lindberg’s The Waves of Wollongong from 2009 which calls for no less than nine trombone soloists. These recent works are complemented by two orchestral classics that use the majesty and rounded tones of the trombone to memorable effect: the burnished sound of Wagner’s rousing Meistersinger overture, and the Pines of Rome, where the trombones bring power and grandeur to Respighi’s picture-making of everything from ancient catacombs to Roman soldiers on the Appian Way.………